Water

IMG_0680

I had to sneak in this beautiful water image of a ceynote in Cozumel that my son and I will be swimming in come September, when we take our vacation!

Water is super important and we all know it. We are told to drink it from the time we are old enough to understand the word, “water”.  My kids would tell me their head hurt and the first thing I asked is if they had drank any water today. I called them water headaches. We bathe in it, cook food in it and it is the most amazing natural wonder in our world. Life giving and life altering, we literally die without it.

Do you know what is in your water?

Start your research at the county water service site for your county and there should be a link to a water dedicated website. You have to do some sleuthing to find the information on water quality. I don’t know why but it is not usually clearly labeled, “Click here for your water quality” and it should be. Everyone should read about their water quality. Spend the time to research and find the information. You are looking for the Water Quality Index Summary Report. Find the closest location to your residence that has your water information and take a gander. You can find out where your water source is located, what they add to it to make it safe to use, whether they add chlorine or chloramine, and if they add fluoride. We just moved to a different county and while writing this, I took a look at our new water report, it isn’t good. In fact under the heading “Condition” it says “Poor”. But my current water treatment does not add fluoride to the water supply and they add 1/3 the amount of chlorine that my previous residence area did. I ended up finding this report by Googling “chlorine in >>>>” insert your water district. I could not find this information on the water district site but then all the information I needed popped up on one handy report called the Drinking Water Quality Report.

Chlorine is necessary and good for disinfecting water BUT it is bad for us in the quantities that are added to our water. Just begin researching chlorine and effects and you will see what I am talking about. For me, it was asthma attacks after showers from breathing the chlorinated steam, acne, rashes, hair loss, dry skin, headaches, irritability and an immune system that was overloaded from trying to fight off mass quantities of toxic level chlorine in my system. I bought a shower filter that filtered chlorine, a water pitcher with a chlorine filter and vitamin c tabs for the bath. Britta filters do not filter out chlorine and most shower filters do not as well. You have to read closely and find the ones that do. I use Zero water pitcher for drinking water. There is some initial cost but the results are worth it. My hair stopped falling out, my skin cleared up, my asthma is under control, and bye bye dry skin.

Fluoride is another additive but is not added by every water district. Thankfully I moved from an area that adds it to one that does not. Fluoride  in the excessive amounts that they add to drinking water is too much and causes headaches, stiffness and pain in joints, teeth damage and skeletal damage. Fluoride is a result of strip mining and was introduced to being a water additive as a solution to disposal of excessive quantities of fluoride. NOT because we needed additional fluoride as it was marketed. Unfortunately I have not found any filters for fluoride as it is a difficult process to filter adequately.

Fluoride in water

I see cleaning up my water as the base of my decision to start choosing healthy ways of living. It seems fitting as water is the basis of everything and so I began at the bottom with the most basic need we have and began working up from there.

