Blueberry Waffle Me Baby

I love waffles. I have worn out waffle makers. Since I began eating a whole food plant based diet, I have cut way back on flour based products. One because they are processed and therefore far from a whole food and two because flour wreaks havoc on my blood sugar. So eating a waffle has become a once in awhile food that I know will always make me feel really crappy afterwards. Well, recently I decided that I was gonna have my waffle and eat it too! I decided that I was going to nail down the waffle recipe that I could eat and enjoy without feeling horrible afterwards. There are consistently three foods that I will eat that make my body sorry that I ate them: waffles, ice cream and pizza. I will find recipes for all three that are delicious, satisfying and make my body say, “hell yea!”.

So let’s talk flours. I have been substituting different flours for white/wheat flour for over a year now in different cake, cookies, pies and desserts. I tried amaranth, almond, coconut, oat, and rice. If you read any recipe that calls for substitute flours, you will know what a pain it is to try and substitute white/wheat flour for other flours. You have to use a combination of at least three different substitute flours and add in ingredients like xanthan gum or guar gum to make up for the lack of gluten. Perhaps it is my lack of interest in working this out but it was too complicated for me and I never found the right combination for tasty edible food. Either it was a texture issue or it didn’t rise or it didn’t taste right.

I was perusing waffle recipes the other night and stumbled across a simple recipe on one of my favorite sites that called for regular white flour but in the reviews, which I always read, a reviewer had substituted spelt flour. I immediately researched spelt flour and found out that it has gluten in it and can be substituted 1:1 for white/wheat flour. What?! No way. Yes way. I bought some.

Last night I threw together the waffle recipe. It is a dry mix I keep in a mason jar and just add water to it.

1 1/4 cups spelt flour

1tsp coconut sugar or any other non-white sugar

2tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1tsp cinnamon

Blueberry Spelt Waffles

This morning I made blueberry spelt waffles with coconut butter and real maple syrup. I had a mouth-gasm. It was amazing. The waffle was fluffy, chewy , with a slightly sweet nutty flavor. I put the blueberries in the mix and grill in the waffle iron, instead of on top. Coconut butter is just shredded unsweetened coconut spun in the food processor until it becomes butter texture and I use it like butter. So my search for the perfect waffle recipe is over. My body loves this one. Now on to find a pizza cheese that satisfies! I will let you know how my spelt pizza crust comes out.

