Venezia Biennale Day Two

Deep pockets of myself have been accessed and opened up over the last two days. Today we went to the Giardini part of the Biennale. I felt rather removed and comfortable at an arm’s length distance from most of the exhibits until we stepped into the Israel exhibit by artist Gilad Ratman. He had the artists participating in his exhibition dig under ground working their way to the exhibition site where they broke through the floor and emerged to create head sculptures made of clay. They inserted microphones into the heads and then recorded sounds made by their voices. These sounds were guttural, primordial and came from the very bowels of their selves and the earth they just crawled, scraped, and dug their way through.

The sounds broke through my distance and struck my core. What emerged is yet to be seen but it felt real, visceral and raw…it pushed it’s way into pockets of earth inside me, dug roots into places that have never seen light.  May my images here transport you to just a small part of what I have experienced.

Image

The hole

Image

The sculpted heads

ImageImage

Image

Guo Fengyi “I draw because I don’t know- I draw in order to know.”

ImageImage

Roger Caillois

ImageImageImageImage

Mise-en-scene “Giving form to the instability of feelings and their impermanence.”

Image

Thierry De Cordier

ImageImage

ImageImage

Marisa Merz

ImageImage

Jean Frederic Schnyder

ImageImageImage

See Pan?

ImageImage

Andra Ursita

ImageImage

Aleister Crowley was at the Biennale!!

ImageImageImageImageImage

Eva Kotatkova Examines institutions and disciplinary systems from primary schools to prisons.

ImageImageImage

Anna Zemankova Biomorphic forms sprung from menopausal depression. I see wombs in her work.

ImageImageImage

A classmate Jules 🙂

ImageImageImage

Antti Laitinen It’s My Island

Image049 

The Portugal exhibition

052 053 054 058

Wonderful music!

Leave a Reply

