8 Days until we Leave for Italy

I am doing the waiting game. I never seem to win this game however. I am ready to go and have been since we left Portland. At least here at my grams house I can be helpful and spend time with family. But I am really ready to get on that plane. So ready that I have even imagined it step by step, like what I will wear for comfortable sleeping, where I will put my laptop and dvd’s for easy viewing, will I wear the stylish shoes or my comfortable slip ons. Yeah, my brain drives me crazy sometimes.

Things about Gram’s and the reservation life that I enjoy: It is sometimes so still and quiet, at night you can see a blanket of stars against the black sky, everyone knows each other, the post office is a hang out, people shake your hand, it is so beautiful with trees everywhere and if I want the ocean is 15 minutes away, photo opportunities are everywhere, the negative ions feel great, dogs walk down the middle of the street and have the right of way and hanging with the family is never dull and will be missed.

There is one restaurant/cafe here called The Little Chief and it is your typical small town cafe, where the men gather every morning for coffee and talk about the state of the world or who grew the biggest tomato. The long suffering waitresses put up with their sideways advances and brush them off, the owner is also the cook and they make the best homemade hash browns ever, fried in real butter. On Thursdays you can eat there for free and it closes down daily at 2pm. They have a jar out at the register for donations for my trip to Italy.

Last week was The annual Run to the Rogue event.  It is a 234 mile relay run/walk in memory of the Siletz Tribal ancestors who were forcibly removed from their homeland in Rogue River country in the mid 1800s and marched north to Siletz and the confinements of the Coast Reservation. Mom and I gathered with a group of about 50 other people up on Government Hill where the annual pow wow is held and after a man sang a Whale song accompanied by a hand drum, we all followed the color guard down the hill and across town to where the road comes into town from out there, off tribal land. We all stood and watched in reverence as 3 kids dressed in shorts and hoodies started off walking for the first leg of the relay.  Everyone disbursed and went to The Little Chief of course. It was a holiday feel around town, the clinic shut down, the school brought the students down and it was observed, that this was a day to remember. I didn’t take photos as I don’t at most tribal gatherings, they have a different view on photographing sacred happenings.  But here is a full moon shot taken from Siletz.

Image

Leave a Reply

